International Repression

Although the current §278a case may seem like a local peculiarity, it cannot be denied that repression aimed at political activists is on the
agenda in many countries.

Therefore we are posting an article from Interface: A Journal for and about Social Movements Volume 1 Number 2 (November 2009)

AETA, 278a and Conspiracy…

The Use of Racketeering Laws for the Destruction of Animal Liberation Activism

Abstract

In the 21st century, the criminalisation of organisation per se, under the guise of anti-terrorist legislation, has been increasingly used against social
movements. Such legislation often carries higher penalties for membership in an organisation than for the acts which such organisations are accused of, and justifies the generalised surveillance of movement organisations. The animal rights / animal liberation movement, as a small but widespread movement, has been a testing ground for this legislation, but it is already being used against other and larger movements. The action note discusses the experience of activists in
the USA, UK and Austria. There is a call for support at the end of the note.

„Conspiracy to Commit Blackmail“, „Forming a Criminal Organisation“ or other similar sounding criminal proceedings have increasingly proven to be the downfall of many political activists in recent times. Not only in Austria, but in many other countries as well, racketeering laws have been used more and more against political initiatives in the past several years. Unfortunately the animal rights/liberation movement has been the foremost target of these developments.

Racketeering and Anti-Terror Laws

At the very latest after the murderous attacks on September 11, 2001 most western countries have enacted anti-terror laws. In many cases these are a special form of the laws against organised crime, which were standardised across Europe by 2004. 1

Racketeering laws do not punish crimes in the typical sense. Rather, they enable the penalisation of crimes of preparation. These include activities that are not illegal in and of themselves, but in connection with organised crime are regarded as a part of and in support of criminal actions, thereby catching the supposed “men behind the scenes, who do not get their hands dirty.” Thus according to an Austrian legal expert, the crime of organisation must be viewed as a “link in a chain of events, which ends in a completed felony” (Velten 2009).

The penalisation of crimes of preparation represents a type of shift to pre-emptive criminal prosecution. Not only crimes that have actually been committed are prosecuted, but instead the attempt is made to prevent the committing of these crimes in advance and thus to penalise preparatory actions as well.

Racketeering laws are not only used by law enforcement to criminalise political activists and their supporters. With racketeering laws, and especially with anti-terror laws, the penalties carry a disproportionately high sentence in comparison to the crimes that have actually been committed. Furthermore, by using anti-terror or racketeering laws, law enforcement officials gain sweeping legitimisation for the surveillance of suspects. A fact, which will become clearer through the following examples.

I. USA

Racketeering laws were already utilised against opponents of the war in Vietnam during the 1960′s. Up until recently, they were rarely used against political activists and thus were mostly forgotten in this context. They became a topic of public debate again in May, 2004 when SHAC (Stop Huntingdon Animal Cruelty), an animal rights campaign, along with six activists, who supposedly coordinated anti-vivisection protests, were charged with “Conspiracy to Violate the Animal Enterprise Protection Act (AEPA)”. The AEPA, later renamed Animal Enterprise Terrorism Act (AETA) 2 , was enacted in 1992 and aims to criminalise animal rights activists: the law places the “damaging or interfering with the operations of an animal enterprise” under penalty. 3 The six activists in connection with others were supposedly involved since 1999 in an incredibly successful campaign to shut down one of the biggest companies in the world conducting animal experiments, Huntingdon Life Sciences (HLS). HLS is a contract-laboratory; in their four locations, HLS conducts experiments on animals requested (and paid for) by pharmaceuticals and the chemical industry, among others, in order to test the toxicity of substances. Every year about 70,000 animals are killed in experiments by HLS. The campaign is based primarily on legal activism such as protests, rallies and information stands, but also includes acts of civil disobedience such as run-ins, lock-on actions or occupations of roofs. On the outskirts of this campaign, which has been active for years all over the world, politically motivated property damage was applied to put pressure on HLS. The activists were charged with several counts of stalking 4 in addition to the charges of Conspiracy to Violate the AEPA. The countless witnesses who testified against the accused in court could not link any of the individual activists to felonies at all. In the end, they were merely accused of running the campaign’s website and publishing possible targets for protest, among them home addresses of HLS employees, as well as speaking out favourably about illegal actions against animal exploiters.

All six of the accused activists were convicted and sentenced to up to six years in prison.

II. England

In May, 2007 30 activists were arrested and house searches were conducted throughout Europe by over 700 police officers in connection with the same animal rights campaign. The investigations entailed not only the observation of activists, but also the bugging of living spaces and cooperation with spies, who worked their way into the movement. Many of the activists were charged with “Conspiracy to Blackmail” and seven of them were sentenced in January, 2009 to up to 11 years in prison. In addition some of them received lifetime ASBOs (Anti Social Behaviour Orders), which penalise any engagement against vivisection, including legal activities. Running a website, organising a meeting on the topic of vivisection and gathering signatures for a petition against animal experiments would mean a return to prison for the activists in question.

III. Austria

While various animal rights initiatives called out for a determined nationwide anti-fur campaign against the biggest Austrian clothing chain, Kleider Bauer, and the first protest actions took place, officials of the Austrian Ministry of the Interior made their first plans for crushing the campaign. In a meeting 5 with the management of the fur-selling company Kleider Bauer the decision was made to prohibit the regular protests in front of the shops. The reasoning that the police could no longer guarantee the safety after an incident of night-time property damage sufficed to ban the protests. The animal rights activists continued to make use of their right to assemble and the officials could not find a connection between the incidences of property damage and the legal protests, a fact that can now be read in the official police files. 6 Therefore section 278a of the Austrian Penal Code was brought into play to criminalise the coordinated protests. This law penalises the “Forming of and Membership in a Criminal Organisation” and has up till now been used above all in connection with allegations of human or drug trafficking.

Since Autumn 2006 animal welfare and animal rights/liberation activists have been under investigation according to the racketeering law 278a. From the very beginning the investigations were accompanied by an extensive application of surveillance measures, as was made known from the files: wiretapped mobile phones, localisation of mobile phones, homing devices on cars and personal observation over the course of months. As all of this did not lead to the desired success, the investigators continually expanded the investigatory measures. Thus not only were financial investigations launched into individuals and groups, but also at least one apartment was secretly bugged and hidden surveillance cameras were installed in front of apartment buildings in order to record discussions in private spaces and profile the movements of individual activists. At least 40 known activists and an unknown number of others were caught in the cross-hairs of the police task force, which was formed specifically for this case.

In May, 2008, special forces of the Austrian police searched 23 apartments and offices throughout Austria and arrested ten people. After three and a half months of pre-trial detention and an unparalleled worldwide solidarity campaign, the accused were released from jail. The chief prosecutors ordered the surprising release of the activists, claiming the length of the pre-trial detention was disproportionate to the expected sentences.

Nevertheless over a year later, in Autumn, 2009, the charges were made official. Although most of the original allegations were dropped, the accusation of “Membership in a Criminal Organisation” still remained. The accused are supposedly members of a criminal structure which has allegedly been in existence since 1996 and – according to the prosecutors – is responsible for all legal as well as illegal activities involving animal welfare/rights. Thus every activity related to animal welfare/rights is regarded as evidence of membership in “the Organisation”. Even legal activities such as registering a protest or organising lectures only serve to fulfil the goals of the “Criminal Organisation”.

In 2010, for the first time in post-war Austria, political activists will be tried in court for organised crime. The prosecutor in charge has subpoenaed over 100 incriminating witnesses for the upcoming trial. This fact alone ensures that the trial will end in financial ruin for the accused. Even in the case of an acquittal, they have to pay the majority of their legal defence expenses, which in a case of these proportions are expected to amount to several tens of thousands of Euros. Furthermore, in the case of a conviction the maximum sentences could reach up to five years in prison.

Abolish All Racketeering/Anti-Terror Laws

The increase in repression against the global animal rights/liberation movement is no coincidence as can easily be seen by examining the references made by the Austrian investigators to similar cases in the UK. Not only in the UK and Austria, law enforcement agencies are showing increasing interest in the animal rights movement – even Europol, the European network of such agencies, formed to fight international organised crime and terrorism, treats the movement for animal liberation as growing threat to European security. 7

Other social movements are also struggling with enormous repression launched by the state. In many countries, political activists are arrested and penalised for their opinions or political activities. Since the animal rights/liberation movement is relatively small and somewhat marginalised, yet extremely active, it seems to present an ideal testing ground for new surveillance technologies and novel methods of criminalisation employed by law enforcement agencies. It would not be surprising if these new tools were soon used against other political movements or even large parts of the general population.

In those countries where the application of racketeering laws has already proven of value, they are already used against a broad spectrum of political initiatives in court, such as anti-militarism activists in Germany, anarcho-syndicalists in Serbia or ecological-autonomous activists in France.

The increasing utilisation of such laws should not be underestimated as they can sooner or later threaten more and more political initiatives and constrain political activism as a whole. Therefore it is necessary to show solidarity with those targeted by these developments and to defend the opportunities and potential offered by organised political activism.

Bibliography

Velten, Petra 2009. “Die Organisationsdelikte haben Konjunktur: Eine moderne Form der Sippenhaftung? Banken und Tierschützer vor Gericht.” 55 – 63 im Journal für Strafrecht (JSt), Zeitschrift für Kriminalrecht, Strafvollzug und Soziale Arbeit, Heft 2.

About the author

Christof Mackinger is a student of social sciences working on social movements and different aspects of social criticism.
He is one of the accused in the Austrian §278a case.

  1. http://europa.eu/legislation_summaries/justice_freedom_security/fight_against_organised_crime/l33084_de.htm (October 17th 2009)
  2. The AEPA was changed in 2006 to the AETA. The major difference lies in the broader definition of what an “animal enterprise” is, the expansion of the maximum penalty, as well as the accommodation of the law to the new strategies of animal rights campaigns through the criminalisation of protests against the business partners of animal enterprises when their intent is to increase the pressure on the original target of the campaign.
  3. http://www.govtrack.us/congress/billtext.xpd?bill=s109-3880
  4. See http://shac7.com/case.htm
  5. See (in German) http://www.peterpilz.at/html/tagup/Bericht2.pdf, http://www.peterpilz.at/html/tagup/Bericht3.pdf and http://www.peterpilz.at/html/tagup/Bericht4.pdf
  6. See „Resümeeprotokoll vom 05. April 2007 “ http://www.peterpilz.at/html/tagup/Bericht2.pdf (in German)
  7. See http://www.europol.europa.eu/publications/EU_Terrorism_Situation_and_Trend_Report_TE-SAT/TESAT2009.pdf

Repression international

Der aktuelle §278a-Fall in Österreich mag vielleicht einiges an lokalen Besonderheiten aufweisen, es ist aber nicht von der Hand zu weisen, dass Repression gegen politische Aktivist_innen in vielen Ländern auf der Tagesordnung steht.

Einen Überblick zur internationalen Situation gibt das Black Bulletin (März 2010) – Staatliche Repression überall, Ein grenzüberschreitender Blick auf Organisationsparagraphen, Antiterror-Gesetze und die Kriminalisierung von politischem Aktivismus.

Außerdem dokumentieren wir hier einen Artikel aus Interface: A Journal for and about Social Movements Volume 1 Number 2 (November 2009)

AETA, 278a und Verschwörung zur…

Organisationsparagraphen zur Zerschlagung tierbefreierischen Aktivismus

„Vereinigung zu Erpressung“, „Bildung einer Kriminellen Organisation“ oder so ähnlich klingen Strafverfolgungsmaßnahmen, die in jüngster Zeit immer mehr politischen Aktivist_innen zum Verhängnis wurden. Nicht nur in Österreich, in vielen anderen Ländern auch, werden seit einigen Jahren Organisationsparagraphen zunehmend gegen politische Initiativen eingesetzt. Die Tierrechts-/Tierbefreiungsbewegung steht dabei leider an vorderster Stelle.

Organisationsparagraphen

Spätestens nach den mörderischen Anschlägen vom 11. September 2001 haben die meisten westlichen Länder Anti-Terror-Gesetzgebungen erlassen. Diese stellen oft eine Sonderform der auf innereuropäischer Ebene spätestens 2004 vereinheitlichten Gesetzestexte gegen die Organisierte Kriminalität dar. 1

Organisationsparagraphen ahnden keine Gesetzesverstöße im herkömmlichen Sinne. Sie kennzeichnen vielmehr die Möglichkeit sogenannte Vorfelddelikte unter Strafe zu stellen. Darunter werden Aktivitäten zusammengefasst, die zwar an sich nicht strafbar sind, aber in Zusammenhang mit Organisierter Kriminalität an strafbaren Handlungen teilhaben und diese fördern. Damit sollten die vermeintlichen „Hintermänner, die sich nicht die Finger schmutzig machen“ dingfest gemacht werden. So ist, wie dies eine österreichische Strafrechtlerin darstellte, das Organisationsdelikt als ein „Glied einer Verlaufsreihe [zu] betrachten, an deren Ende das vollendete Delikt steht.“ 2

Die Abstrafung von Vorfelddelikten stellt gewissermaßen eine Vorverlagerung der Strafverfolgung dar. Es werden nicht nur begangene Verstöße gegen das Strafgesetzbuch verfolgt, stattdessen wird versucht die Begehung dieser im Vorfeld zu unterbinden und vorbereitende Handlungen ebenso zu ahnden.

Organisationsdelikte werden nicht nur genutzt, um ein für Strafverfolgungsbehörden unüberschaubares Feld von politischen Aktivist_innen und Sympathisant_innen zu kriminalisieren. Auf Organisationsparagraphen, ebenso wie auf Terrorparagraphen im speziellen, stehen im Vergleich zu den tatsächlich vollendeten Straftaten ungleich höhere Strafen. Ein weiterer Aspekt betrifft die umfassende Legitimierung der Strafverfolgsbehörden zur Überwachung vermeintlich Verdächtiger durch die Anwendung von Paragraphen gegen Terrorismus oder Organisierte Kriminalität. Eine Tatsache, die bei den folgenden Beispielen noch deutlich werden wird.

I. USA

Bereits in den 1960er Jahren wurden Vereinigungsdelikte in den USA gegen Gegner_innen des Vietnam-Kriegs in Anschlag gebracht. In jüngster Zeit gerieten sie in Vergessenheit, da sie kaum gegen politische Aktivist_innen Anwendung fanden. Erst im Mai 2004 wurden sie wieder Gegenstand öffentlicher Diskussion, als SHAC (Stop Huntingdon Animal Cruelty), eine Tierrechtskampagne sowie sechs Tierrechtsaktivist_innen, die Anti-Tierversuchsproteste koordiniert haben sollen, wegen „Verschwörung zum Verstoß gegen den Animal Enterprise Protection Act (AEPA)“ angeklagt wurden. Der AEPA oder später Animal Enterprise Terrorism Act (AETA) 3 trat 1992 in Kraft und zielt auf die Kriminalisierung von Tierrechtsaktivist_innen ab: Der Gesetzestext stellt die „Störung oder Einmischung in Handlungen eines tiernutzenden Unternehmens“ 4 unter Strafe. Die sechs Aktivist_innen hätten zusammen mit anderen seit dem Jahr 1999 eine überaus erfolgreiche Kampagne zur Schließung eines der größten Tierversuchsunternehmen weltweit, Huntingdon Life Sciences (HLS), mitgetragen. HLS ist ein sogenanntes Auftragslabor. In den vier Niederlassungen von HLS werden Versuche an Tieren u.a. im Auftrag der Pharma- und Chemieindustrie durchgeführt, um die Giftigkeit von Substanzen zu testen. Jedes Jahr werden von HLS rund 70.000 Tiere in Tierversuchen getötet. Die Kampagne stützt sich vor allem auf legale Protestaktionen, wie Demonstrationen, Kundgebungen und Infotische, doch auch ziviler Ungehorsam, wie Run-Ins, Ankettaktionen oder Dachbesetzungen kamen zum Einsatz. Am Rande der seit Jahren weltweit agierenden Kampagne wurden auch politisch motivierte Sachbeschädigungen als Mittel eingesetzt, um das Unternehmen HLS unter Druck zu setzen. Den angeklagten Aktivist_innen wurde neben der Verschwörung zum Verstoß gegen den AEPA auch Stalking in mehreren Fällen vorgeworfen. 5 Die unzähligen Zeug_innen, die vor Gericht gegen die Beschuldigten aussagen sollten, konnten in keiner Weise einzelne der Aktivist_innen mit Straftaten in Verbindung bringen. Einzig wurde ihnen angelastet, eine Kampagnen-Website mit möglichen Protestzielen, darunter auch Privatadressen von bei HLS Beschäftigten online gestellt zu haben und Straftaten gegen Tierausbeuter_innen gut zu heißen.

Alle sechs angeklagten Aktivist_innen wurden zu Haftstrafen bis zu 6 Jahren verurteilt.

II. England

Im Zusammenhang mit derselben Tierrechts-Kampagne wurden im Mai 2007 unter Einsatz von 700 Polizist_innen europaweit Hausdurchsuchungen durchgeführt und 30 Aktivist_innen verhaftet. Die Ermittlungen der Behörden umfassten neben Observationen auch das Abhören von Wohnräumen und die Zusammenarbeit mit einem in die Bewegung eingeschleusten Spitzel. Mehrere der Aktivist_innen wurden wegen der Verschwörung zur Erpressung angeklagt und sieben davon im Januar 2009 zu Haftstrafen bis zu elf Jahren verurteilt. Zusätzlich bekamen einzelne von ihnen sogenannte ASBOs (Anti Social Behaviour Orders) für die Dauer ihres restlichen Lebens auferlegt, die ein weiteres Engagement gegen Tierversuche, auch auf legaler Ebene, unter Strafe stellen. Jedes Betreiben einer Website, jede Organisation eines Treffens zum Thema Tierversuche und jede Unterschirftensammlung gegen Experimente an Tieren würde für die Betroffenen die Rückkehr in das Gefängnis bedeuten.

III. Österreich

Als im Herbst 2006 verschiedene Tierrechtsinitiativen geschlossen zu einer österreichweiten Anti-Pelz-Kampagne gegen das größte Modeunternehmen Kleider Bauer aufriefen und die ersten Protestaktionen abgehalten wurden, schmiedeten Beamt_innen des österreichischen Innenministeriums erste Pläne zur Niederschlagung der Kampagne. In einem Treffen 6 mit dem Management des pelzverkaufenden Modekonzerns Kleider Bauer wurde beschlossen, die regelmäßigen Kundgebungen vor den Geschäften behördlich zu untersagen. Als Begründung reichte aus, dass die Polizei die Sicherheit nicht aufrecht erhalten könne, nachdem in einem Fall nachts Eigentum von Kleider Bauer beschädigt wurde. Da die Tierrechtler_innen aber weiterhin von ihrem Recht auf Versammlungsfreiheit Gebrauch machten und die Behörden, wie es mittlerweile als belegt gilt 7, keinen Zusammenhang zwischen den Sachbeschädigungen und den legalen Protesten herzustellen vermochten, wurde der Paragraph 278a zur Kriminalisierung der koordinierten Proteste ins Feld geführt. Der Paragraph 278a stellt die Bildung und Mitgliedschaft einer Kriminellen Organisation unter Strafe und wurde in Österreich bisher vor allem im Zusammenhang mit Vorwürfen der Schlepperei, des Drogenhandels und des Menschenhandels in Verbindung gebracht.

Seit Herbst 2006 wird nun gegen Aktivist_innen der Tierschutz- und der Tierrechts-/Tierbefreiungsbewegung nach dem Vereinigungsparagraphen 278a ermittelt. Die Ermittlungen waren, wie mittlerweile aus der Aktenlage ersichtlich ist, von Anfang an von einem großzügigen Einsatz von Überwachung begleitet: Abgehorchte Mobiltelefone, Funkzellenauswertung, Peilsender auf Autos und Observationen über Monate hinweg. Da dies offenbar nicht zu den gewünschten Erfolgen führte, weiteten die Ermittler_innen die Maßnahmen sukzessive aus. So wurden nicht nur Finanzermittlungen gegen einzelne Personen und Initiativen eingeleitet, sondern auch mindestens eine Wohnung heimlich verwanzt und Kameras an Wohnhäusern angebracht um Gespräche in Privaträumen überwachen zu können bzw. um Bewegungsprofile von Aktivist_innen zu erstellen. Im Fadenkreuz der extra dafür gebildeten polizeilichen Sonderkommission standen mindestens 40 bekannte Aktivist_innen und eine unbekannte Anzahl weiterer Personen.

Im Mai 2008 stürmten Sondereinheiten der Polizei österreichweit 23 Wohnungen und Büros, durchsuchten diese und nahmen zehn Menschen fest. Nach dreieinhalb Monaten Untersuchungshaft und einer beispiellosen weltweiten Solidaritätskampagne wurden die Beschuldigten aus dem Gefängnis entlassen. Die andauernde Untersuchungshaft stehe nicht mehr im Verhältnis zu der erwartenden Strafe, begründete die Oberstaatsanwaltschaft die überraschende Freilassung der Aktivist_innen.

Nichtsdestotrotz folgte ein Jahr später, im Herbst 2009, eine Anklage. Obwohl ein Großteil der ursprünglichen Anschuldigungen fielen, bleibt der Vorwurf der Mitgliedschaft in einer Kriminellen Organisation bestehen. Den Angeklagten wird vorgeworfen, Mitglied in einer seit 1996 existierenden kriminellen Struktur zu sein, die sich sowohl für alle legalen als auch illegalen Aktivitäten im Tierschutz- und Tierrechtsbereich verantwortlich zeichnet. Dabei soll schlicht jede Aktivität im Bereich Tierschutz/Tierrechte ein Beleg zur Mitgliedschaft darstellen. Selbst legale Aktivitäten wie Kundgebungen polizeilich anmelden und Vorträge organisieren, diene einzig und allein den Zielen der Kriminellen Organisation.

Erstmals also werden in Österreich 2010 politische Aktivist_innen wegen eines Vereinigungsdeliktes vor Gericht stehen. Die ermittelnde Staatsanwaltschaft hat für den bevorstehenden Prozess über hundert Belastungszeug_innen geladen. Allein schon dadurch ist dafür gesorgt, dass der Prozess für die Angeklagten finanziell ruinös enden wird. Sie müssen auch im Fall eines Freispruchs für mindestens einen Teil der Anwaltskosten aufkommen. Bei dem zu erwartenden Umfang des Prozesses wird dies pro Person mehrere 10.000 € ausmachen. Darüber hinaus drohen Haftstrafen von bis zu fünf Jahren im Falle einer Verurteilung.

Organisationsparagraphen abschaffen!

Dass die verstärkte Repression gegen die globale Tierrechts-/Tierbefreiungsbewegung kein Zufall ist, zeigt allein schon der Bezug der österreichischen Ermittler_innen auf sehr ähnlich geartete Fälle in England. Nicht nur in Großbritannien und Österreich wird die Tierrechtsbewegung mit zunehmendem Interesse der Strafverfolgungsbehörden bedacht. Selbst Europol, die Vernetzung der Europäischen Behörden zur Bekämpfung international organisierter Kriminalität und Terrorismus, meint eine zunehmende Bedrohung der europäischen Sicherheit durch die Bewegung für die Befreiung der Tiere wahrnehmen zu können.8

Doch auch andere soziale Bewegungen haben mit erheblichen staatlichen Repressalien zu kämpfen. In vielen Ländern werden politische Aktivist_innen verhaftet und für ihre Meinung oder ihr politisches Engagement bestraft. Da die Tierrechts-/Tierbefreiungsbewegung verhältnismäßig klein und zum Teil marginalisiert, aber überaus aktiv ist, stellt sie offenbar ein passendes Testfeld für neue Technologien der Überwachung und neuartige Methoden der Kriminalisierung durch die Strafverfolgungsbehörden dar. Es wäre nicht überraschend, wenn diese in weiterer Folge auf andere politische Bewegungen oder breite Teile der Bevölkerung ausgeweitet werden.

In Ländern, in denen sich die Anwendung von Organisationsparagraphen schon bewährt hat, stehen ohnehin bereits vielfältige politische Initiativen vor Gericht, seien es Antimilitaristische Aktivist_innen in Deutschland, Anarchosyndikalist_innen in Serbien oder Öko-Autonome in Frankreich.

Die zunehmende Anwendung von Vereinigungsparagraphen ist eine nicht zu unterschätzende Entwicklung, die über kurz oder lang immer mehr politische Initiativen betreffen wird und politisches Engagement insgesamt einzuschränken vermag. Daher gilt es sich mit den Betroffenen zu solidarisieren und die Möglichkeiten zum organisierten politischen Engagement zu verteidigen!

  1. http://europa.eu/legislation_summaries/justice_freedom_security/fight_against_organised_crime/l33084_de.htm (Zugriff: 17.10.2009)
  2. Velten, Petra: Die Organisationsdelikte haben Konjunktur: Eine moderne Form der Sippenhaftung? Banken und Tierschützer vor Gericht. In: Journal für Strafrecht (JSt), Zeitschrift für Kriminalrecht, Strafvollzug und Soziale Arbeit, Heft 2, 2009
  3. Der AEPA wurde 2006 zum AETA abgeändert. Die wesentlichen Unterschiede liegen in der breiteren Definition, was ein „Animal Enterprise“ sei, in der Anpassung des Gesetzes an neue Strategien von Tierrechtskampagnen durch die Kriminalisierung von Protesten bei Geschäftspartner_innen von tiernutzenden Unternehmen, welche auf die Ausübung von Druck auf die ursprünglichen Protestziele abzielen würden und schließlich in der Ausweitung des maximalen Strafrahmens.
  4. (meine Übersetzung, C.M.) Der original Gesetzestext: http://www.govtrack.us/congress/billtext.xpd?bill=s109-3880 (Zugriff 17.10.2009)
  5. Siehe http://shac7.com/case.htm (Zugriff 17.10.,2009)
  6. Siehe dazu http://www.peterpilz.at/data_all/tagebuch/2009/Bericht2.pdf, http://www.peterpilz.at/data_all/tagebuch/2009/Bericht3.pdf und http://www.peterpilz.at/data_all/tagebuch/2009/Bericht4.pdf
  7. Siehe dazu Resümeeprotokoll vom 05. April 2007 http://www.peterpilz.at/data_all/tagebuch/2009/Bericht2.pdf (Zugriff 17.10. 2009)
  8. http://www.europol.europa.eu/publications/EU_Terrorism_Situation_and_Trend_Report_TE-SAT/TESAT2009.pdf (Zugriff 17.10.2009)